A few of my favourite things: bands

a-few-of-my-favourite-things

To me, music is life. It’s the only reason I would rather go blind than deaf. Of course I’d prefer neither, but if it’s a life or death situation, music might be the thing to tip the scale. I don’t really have a particular genre that I prefer, so my taste in music is quite broad. This of course, means that I like quite a few artists, solo or bands, which is why I’m going to divide them into these two categories. The solo artists will be headed your way next week. So, let me introduce you to a few of my favourite bands (although I’m pretty sure you’ve already heard of them)

Mumford & Sons

Even though I didn’t really love their last album as much as I loved the first two, I’m a huge fan of this band. I love(d) the folky feel, the lyrics just resonate on so many different levels and Marcus’ s voice is warmer and lovelier than a hot chocolate on a cold winter’s day. I’ve been lucky enough to see them perform a few times and I loved them every single time. I was lucky enough to see them in a smaller venue in Belgium right after their first album came out and that will always be my favourite concert. Seeing them in a small venue won’t be happening again so I’m very grateful I got to experience that and thinking about it gives me a warm fuzzy buzz all over again.

My personal faves:

After the storm

The Cave

Lover of the light

 

The 1975

I might get a lot of crap for saying I love this band as a (semi-)adult woman but you know what, screw that. I genuinely enjoy their sound and their lyrics, so my liking them has nothing to do with the fact that the lead singer is considered a hunk by all the tweens. What I do love about Matty though, is that he just sounds so damn British (there’s no denying he’s from Manchester, that’s for sure). He’s not afraid of sharing his opinion about the dime in a dozen music that is being made nowadays either and I appreciate that.

My personal faves:

Heart Out

 

The Sound

 

A change of heart

 

Queen

Another British band (I do love my Brits) and this one has stood the test of time. I grew up listening to them and I don’t think I’ll ever stop. I knew the lyrics to Bohemian Rhapsody by heart by the time I went to middle school and not belting along to it feels like blasphemy. Freddie is such a legend: his vocals are simply insane and he knew how to bring a song with emotion and passion. If they ever invent a time machine, I will be going back to 1986 to watch them perform live at Wembley, front row. Oh what a time that must have been to be alive …

My personal faves:

Bohemian Rhapsody

 

Somebody to love

 

Don’t stop me now

 

So there you have ’em, a few of my favourite bands. I love discovering new music so if you know any bands I should definitely listen to, please let me know!

 

Love//D.

2 thoughts on “A few of my favourite things: bands

Leave a Reply

